Dr. Ruben Michael Ceballos

Principal Investigator

Post-Doctoral Scholars and Visiting Scientists

Dr. Mercede “Cede” Furr
Postdoctoral Scholar 

Dr. Basha Sreenivasulu
Postdoctoral Scholar

Dr. Elizabeth Padilla Crespo
Visiting Scientist (NSF ROA)
Univ Interamericana Puerto Rico


Ing. Guillermo De Boeck
Visiting Scientist/Engineer (INFEWS)
Estacion Experimental Agroindustrial
Obispo Colombres (Argentina) 



Ing. Pablo Soraire
Visiting Scientist/Engineer (INFEWS) 
Estacion Experimental Agroindustrial
Obispo Colombres (Argentina) 

Dr. Chinnapong Wangnai
Visiting Faculty/Scientist (RCN)
King Mongkut’s University
of Technology (Thailand)


Graduate Students (PhD)

Piyasi Ghosh (CEMB)
Viruses and Heat-Shock Proteins

Elham Bahramian (CEMB)
Neurotropic Viruses

Yeasin Ahmed (CEMB)
Viruses and Heat-Shock Proteins


Carson Stacy (CEMB)
Virus-Host Dynamics Modeling (Arkansas)

Allison Bratcher (CEMB)
Cnidarian Neurobiology

Nour Fatema (CEMB)
Enzyme Platform Systems


Technical Staff and Other Visiting Scholars

Enrique Marroquin
Field Technician

Jorge Bueno 
Visiting PhD Student
(Univ. Alcala de Henares, Spain)

Fabiola Rodriguez
Lab Technician/Lab Manager


Undergraduate Research Scholars

Safee Belbina
Biology Honors
(Magna Cum Laude 2019)

Jennie Finch
Biology Honors
(SURF Awardee)

Arch Jones
Biology Honors
(NSF RCN UG Intern)


Amy Eggers
Biochemistry Honors
(Honor College Research Awardee)

Blakely Moore
Biochemistry Honors
(NSF MCB UG Intern)

Walker Bartels
Biology Honors


Julia Daugherty
Biology Honors

Nicole Dominguez 
Biology Honors

Ashleigh Hightower
Biology Honors


Guillermo Leyva

Marilyn Cornell 
Biology Honors
(NSF MCB UG Intern)

Kyle Hanson
Biology Honors


 Stephen Fagot 
Biology Honors


Biology Honors

Xelimar Ramirez-Hernandez
Visiting Undergraduate
La Univ. Interamericana (Puerto Rico)



Welcome Allison Bratcher…!

A warm welcome to Allison Bratcher, who comes to the lab as a post-bacc for the Fall Semester 2019 pending processing of her PhD application for a Spring 2020 start in the CEMB program.

Welcome Carson Stacy…!

A warm welcome to Carson Stacy. Carson come to the lab as a graduate of UA to work as a post-baccalaureate lab technician/lab manager.

Congratulations to Huong “Maggie” Hoang CEMB MS Completed..!

Congratulations to Huong "Maggie" Hoang who completed all requirements and successfully defended her master's thesis entitled, "Genetic Relationships using Mitochondrial versus Nuclear Markers: Is The Catfish Rag1 Gene Suitable for Species Differentiation in The...

New Journal Article Published

In collaboration with colleagues at the University of Bergen in Norway, a new article has been accepted to Frontiers in Microbiology: Global Biogeographic Distribution Patterns of Thermoacidophilic Verrucomicrobia Methanotrophs Suggest Allopatric Evolution by...

Welcome Dr. Elizabeth Padilla Crespo…!

The Ceballos Lab welcomes Dra. Elizabeth Padilla-Crespo from La Universidad InterAmericana de Aguadilla, Puerto Rico.  Dr. Padilla is an accomplished scientist whose research focuses on microbiology and the use of microbes in biotechnology. She is visiting the...

Welcome Jorge Bueno Prieto !

The Ceballos Lab welcomes Mr. Jorge Bueno Prieto from Colombia, who is pursuing a PhD at La Universidad Alcala de Henares (Spain).  Dr. Ceballos serves on Jorge's PhD committee. Jorge will be visiting the lab periodically over the next two years.  Jorge also...

Congratulations Jennie Finch…!

Ms. Jennie Finch, an undergraduate Biology Honors student in the lab has recently been awarded the 2019-2020 Guerdon D. Nichols Scholarship from the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences.  As part of the Ceballos Lab, Jennie is engaged in a research...